District 18 VOD/PP/Teacher of the Year Judging

    The judging for 2013 District 18 Voice of Democracy, Patriot’s Pen and Teacher of the Year was conducted at Mountain Grove VFW Post 3770 on Tuesday, November 19, 2013.

    District 18 Commander Ed Hawley and District 18 Sr-Vice Commander Edd Linneberger conducted the judging.  Comrade Iris Joe Kelley was present to operate the cd player for the Voice of Democracy portion.

    Eight Sisters of 5 separate District 18 Ladies Auxiliaries did the judging.

    D18 CDR Hawley and Sr-Vice CDR Linneberger are getting the paperwork in order in preparation for the judging.

Results are:


Theme: “Why I’m Optimistic About our Nation’s Future”
12 Entries
Judging Criteria : Originality, Content, and Delivery.
1ST Place:    Caleb  M. Ball            4107 Lebanon
2ND Place:    Clay A. Smith            3770 Mtn. Grove
3RD Place:    Caroline M. Dunn            6337 Licking


Theme: “What Patriotism Means to Me”
17 Entries
Judging Criteria; Knowledge of theme, Theme Development, Clarity of ideas.
1ST Place;    Kathleen E. Mc Intosh        5366 Isabella
2ND Place;    Morgan J. Mc Farlin        5366 Isabella
3RD Place;    Alexis Cheyenne Shiverdeck    4107 Lebanon

2 Entries
Judging Criteria; An innovative approach to teaching citizenship, Development of resources to teach citizenship education and Passion for teaching citizenship education.
K thru 5TH         No Entry
6TH thru 8TH          Laurel Johnson            1014 Alton
  9TH thru 12TH        Jerry Wickens               473 Cabool  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>