On Thursday, December 13th, 2018 VFW Post 4398 held it’s Voice of Democracy, Patriot’s Pen and Teacher of the Year awards ceremony at the Ray Co. Veterans Bldg.  The Voice of Demoracy 1st place winner is Izabella Anderson from the Hardin-Central School District.  The 2nd place winner is Abigail O’Dell from the Orrick School District.  The Patriot’s Pen winners are both from the Richmond School District.  The 1st place winner is Isabelle Dooley and the 2nd place winner is Lyla Vernetti.  This year Kirk Thacker from the Hardin -Central School District received the Teacher of the Year award.  

In the above picture left to right is Abigail O’Dell, Izabella Anderson, Robbin Cole holding a picture of Kirk Thacker, Isabelle Dooley and Lyla Vernetti with Commander Larry Brune and Patricia Fields, VOD/PP Chairman.  Isabelle Dooley won 1st place at the District level and Kirk Thacker was chosen as the 9 – 12 grade Teacher of the Year at District.  Dooley and Thacker will receive their District awards in January at the District meeting in Chillicothe, Missouri.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>