District 6 is very proud to announce district competition winners for both the Voice of Democracy and Patriot’s Pen Contests for 2017.  The winners and their sponsoring  posts are:

Voice of Democracy

1st Place    Laura Jones          Mebane  Post  1920

2nd Place   Michael Slaton      Henderson Post    2417

3rd  Place   Litao Tu                Durham Post  2740


Patriot’s Pen

1st place    Amelia J Solum            Chapel Hill  Post 9100

2nd place   Maggie  McLean Bass   Butner Post   10777

3rd place   Aaren  C Capilitan         Durham  2740

District winners receive a certificate and a small award.  All first place winners will now compete in a state-wide competition and the winning contestants will compete in the National Finals.  We extend our congratulations to all winners and look forward to one or more  winning state and national recognition.